Local public relations and communications professionals win awards

North Florida Image Awards Winners

The Gainesville Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association recognized several local professionals for excellence in public relations and communications at the North Florida Image Awards at Blue Gill Quality Foods in Gainesville on April 21.

The North Florida Image Awards is conducted annually and has become a standard of public relations excellence in the local region including professionals in Alachua and Duval counties. Winners demonstrate the very best examples of innovation, planning and design, and often go on to win at the state Golden Image competition, which has become a standard of public relations excellence in Florida.

In all, 10 awards were given to various professionals.  Listed are the winners:

  • Tina Banner, APR, CPRC, Acadia Schwartz and University of Florida Advancement for their digital tools in public relations: social media category –Image Award – Gator Nation Giving Day Social Media Campaign.  
  • Mary Dorn, APR and the FPRA Volusia/Flagler Chapter for their public relations program: special events category –Image Award and Judges Award – FPRA Volusia/Flagler Chapter Media Day at Daytona International Speedway.  
  • Thomas Ross and Phin Communications at Jacksonville University for their student projects in public relations: social media category –Award of Distinction and Judges Award – #DreamTogether Strategic Social Media Campaign.
  • Scott Schroeder, APR, CPRC, Jen Pagh and Jea Pion and Liquid Creative for their digital tools of public relations: digital promotion category –Image Award – Liquid Creative Cors Paint Promotion. 
  • Liz Slobdian, APR, and Firehouse Subs for their public relations program: community relations category –Image Award – Firehouse Subs Supports Tornado Disaster Relief Fundraiser.

In addition to the Image awards given out, FPRA Gainesville Chapter recognized three communications professionals for their work in enhancing the profession this past year. Member of the Year: Kathy Richardson, APR from Clay Electric Cooperative; the John Detweiler, Ed. D, APR, CPRC Professional of the Year: Mickey Nall, APR, CPRC from the University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications; and the Rising Star of the Year: Marbella Miller from Naylor.  

FPRA is dedicated to developing public relations practitioners, who, through ethical and standardized practices, enhance the public relations profession in Florida. FPRA is comprised of 15 professional and 14 student chapters throughout the state, providing professional development, networking and professional recognition opportunities.

The Gainesville FPRA Chapter was established in 1968.  Members and guests meet the third Thursday of each month at 11:30 a.m. at Sweetwater Branch Inn in Gainesville. For more information visit www.fpragainesville.org.

Related posts