Governor Rick Scott recognizes educators with the Governor’s Shine Award

Governor Rick Scott recently recognized eight outstanding educators with the Governor’s Shine Award, two of whom are from Alachua County. The Shine Award is presented to teachers and administrators in Florida who make significant contributions to the field of education.

Governor Rick Scott said, “I am proud to present these eight educators with the Governor’s Shine Award today and recognize their incredible work. These great educators represent the many dedicated teachers throughout the state working to ensure every Florida student can reach their full potential has a strong foundation for future success.”

The following local educators were presented with the Governor’s Shine Award:

Renee Andrews, P. K. Yonge Developmental Research School – Renee Andrews has been teaching in Florida public schools for more than 25 years. She currently teaches 11th and 12th grade Advanced Placement Environmental and Marine Sciences and is a recipient of the Shell/National Science Teachers Association Science Teaching Award. Renee is the 2017 P. K. Yonge Developmental Research School District Teacher of the Year.

Esther Lynn Mauffray, Alachua County Schools – Esther Mauffray has been teaching for 38 years and is an Itinerant Vision Teacher for Alachua County Schools, teaching Low Vision, Braille, Orientation and Mobility to PK-12 visually impaired students at multiple schools within the school district.


Related posts