FPRA Announces New Board Members

By Renae Cromwell

14 local public relations professionals have taken their place on the Gainesville Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association (FPRA) board of directors with the mission of “making PR headlines.”

These select members will serve on the board for the 2012-2013 year:

President: Devon Chestnut, public affairs specialist, Cox Communications
Immediate past president: Morgan Lee, sales communications specialist, Exactech, Inc.
Vice president: Julie, Frey, APR, CPRC, director, information and communication technology, University of Florida, College of Design, Construction and Planning
Vice president, member services: Amelia Bell, APR, senior marketing and communications specialist, Gainesville Regional Utilities
Secretary: Laura Aguiar, APR, manager, public relations and governmental affairs, Gainesville Regional Airport
Treasurer: Amy Douglas, APR, director of marketing and communications, University of Florida Performing Arts
Accreditation director: Erin Morton, APR, manager, corporate communications and family services, RTI Biologics, Alachua
Communications director: Leah Craig, corporate communications associate, RTI Biologics
Community relations directory: Ginny Lawrimore, social media manager, University of Florida, Warrington College of Business Administration
Educational services director: Maria Copeland, public education coordinator for Gainesville, LifeQuest Organ Recovery Services
Electronic media director: Morgan McLaughlin, account executive, Liquid Creative Studio
Image awards director: Allison Downey, corporate communications associate, RTI Biologics
Professional development seminar director: Christine Velasquez, APR, assistant director of Advancement Communications for UF&Shands, the University of Florida Academic Health Center
Programs director: Kevin Coulson, director of marketing and business development, Meridian Behavioral Healthcare, Inc.

FPRA was established in 1938 and is currently celebrating it’s 75th year of enhancing and promoting the public relations profession. In 1968, the Gainesville Chapter was created and now has more than 100 local members. In August, this chapter was named the 2011-2012 chapter of the year for the sixth time.

“The Gainesville Chapter of FPRA has a history of great leadership, a strong membership base and unyielding advocacy for our profession and our community,” said Chestnut. “This year, I envision nothing less than continuing that tradition.”

Interested in joining FPRA or getting to know your new board members? Join them on October 18th from 5:30 – 7pm at the Sweetwater Branch Inn for a new member mixer to kick off the new year. This will be an opportunity for prospective members to join and for current members to renew their membership and network with the board. All members who bring a new member to our October mixer will be entered to win tickets to an upcoming show at the Curtis M. Phillips Center.

To learn more about the Gainesville Chapter of FPRA, visit www.fpragainesville.com.


Related posts